WSHH 99.7

Mascot Party!

Have you ever heard of a mascot party? Neither have I but apparently it’s a hit! I learned about this popular event during my time at WSHH 99.7! I was first made aware of it after Winter Wonderland at Station Square, where numerous mascots were asked to come entertain guests and walk around, take pictures, etc. Given a list of over 50 mascots from around the area, my most recent task was to find mascots available to join us at an event at the Mall at Robinson on April 22. You would never think that there were so many mascots in the Pittsburgh area! Between colleges and universities to businesses and restaurants to sports teams, there are a ton! However, what I didn’t realize was that some restaurants and businesses need requests at least five months in advance! Because of this, a lot of mascots were automatically cut. I also learned that if you need a college or university mascot, the best option is to contact the cheerleading coach! Getting more than 10 mascots to attend a “mascot party,” which is a dance party with mascots and kids/listeners, is a lot harder than it seems! Nevertheless, I have finally confirmed 12 mascots for the mascot party this weekend that will be a part of a bigger event!

Leave a comment